Black Adam Movie Review - Is This The Movie DCEU Fans Have Been Waiting For?

JayC

The new Black Adam movie which stars Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson in the lead role is a enjoyable movie worth going to see in my opinion. While it doesn’t provide anything groundbreaking in the world of comic book movie storytelling, I thought it provided a good 2 hours of action packed entertainment.

The basic synopsis for this movie reads as follows:

“Nearly 5,000 years after he was bestowed with the almighty powers of the Egyptian gods-and imprisoned just as quickly-Black Adam is freed from his earthly tomb, ready to unleash his unique form of justice on the modern world."

The overall plot was fairly predictable though I did think they added a nice twist to Adam’s origins that you might not see coming right away, and it provides a good explanation for the characters motivations throughout the movie. I am not an expert on Black Adam’s history but I do know his origins have been changed a few times over the years since he was first introduced in the comics back in 1945.

I have always thought of Black Adam as a super-villain, but here he is presented more as an anti-hero type character which seems to be in keeping with the characters more recent appearances in the comics.

The movie also introduces the Justice Society for the first time in the DCEU. While I perhaps would have appreciated a little more background on these characters since it was the first time seeing them, I thought the actors did a good job bringing these classic DC characters to life. Pierce Brosnan as Dr. Fate was my favorite of the group and I hope this isn’t the last time we see him on the big screen.